More

    The Apothecary Diaries Episode 24 Release Date & Time (Season Finale)

    Season 2 is on the way.

    Maomao and Jinshi finally have a heart-to-heart in The Apothecary Diaries episode 24, which is the season finale episode. This episode will see the relationship between the young lord and his servant blossom into something more.

    The first cour of The Apothecary Diaries ran for 12 episodes and quickly became one of the most popular anime of 2023. In 2024, the second cour continues the anime’s momentum as Maomao takes on various assignments as Jinshi’s assistant.

    The Apothecary Diaries Episode 24 Release Date and Time

    Episode 24 of The Apothecary Diaries premieres on March 23 at 10:45 a.m. PST / 1:45 p.m. EST on Crunchyroll. The new episode is titled “Jinshi and Maomao.” With the final episode’s release, 24 episodes will be available for the first season of The Apothecary Diaries.

    The Apothecary Diaries episode 24 will premiere at the following times: 

    • Sub
      • Pacific Standard Time: 10:45 a.m. PST
      • Mountain Standard Time: 11:45 a.m. MST
      • Central Standard Time: 12:45 p.m. CST
      • Eastern Standard Time: 1:45 p.m. EST
      • Greenwich Mean Time: 5:45 p.m. GMT
    • Dub
      • Pacific Standard Time: 1:30 p.m. PST
      • Mountain Standard Time: 2:30 p.m. MST
      • Central Standard Time: 3:30 p.m. CST
      • Eastern Standard Time: 4:30 p.m. EST
      • Greenwich Mean Time: 8:30 p.m. GMT

    What Happened in Episode 23?

    In The Apothecary Diaries episode 23, Maomao challenges Lakan to a game of chess. Every time someone loses a match, the loser must drink from one of five cups containing a medicine that can be poisonous in several doses. Lakan is somewhat fearful of his daughter being poisoned, but he accepts the conditions nonetheless.

    After the third match, Lakan finally drinks from one of the cups and appears to exhibit signs of being poisoned. Fortunately, it turns out to be a trick by Maomao, who simply used alcohol to get her father drunk since he’s a lightweight. Since Lakan is knocked out, he must go ahead and buy the Verdigris House courtesan housed in the annex, Fengxian. Fengxian is Maomao’s mother, and the episode proceeds to delve into the backstory of Lakan and Fengxian.

    From a young age, Lakan was unable to discern people’s faces from a young age, instead seeing them as pawn pieces. He was unable to see anyone’s face until he met Fengxian, the only person who is able to beat him in chess and shogi. Through their games together and consistent communication, the two were falling in love, despite Fengxian’s duties as a courtesan. However, the price of Fengxian’s continued to increase over time, meaning that Lakan saw her less frequently.

    A few years go by, with Lakan and Fengxian exchanging letters. He discovers that bidders were working together to raise her price to benefit themselves. The plan fell through, since Fengxian was pregnant with Maomao and became sick, causing her price to plummet to zero. To make matters worse, the last letter he received came with burnt fingers from Fengxian. Lakan rushes to the Verdigris House in shame, failing to realize in time about what happened to the woman he loves. 

    Despite his devious acts toward Maomao and Jinshi, Lakan is ashamed of what happened. After discovering the truth, Maomao gives Lakan a withered rose, signifying that it can regain its true shape. The episode ends with the implication that Lakan can help Fengxian heal and make things right. 

    Episode 24 Preview

    The first season of The Apothecary Diaries comes to an end in episode 24. Jinshi and Maomao will be the focus of the episode, seeing the two come closer together after their recent ordeals. The Apothecary Diaries Season 2 is on the way in 2025, so this will be goodbye for now!

    Watch the new preview trailer below.

    Lastly, here’s a synopsis of the series, via Square Enix Manga & Books:

    In the East is a land ruled by an emperor, whose consorts and serving women live in a sprawling complex known as the hougong, the rear palace. Maomao, an unassuming girl raised in an unassuming town by her apothecary father, never imagined the rear palace would have anything to do with her—until she was kidnapped and sold into service there.
    Though she looks ordinary, Maomao has a quick wit, a sharp mind, and an extensive knowledge of medicine. That’s her secret, until she encounters a resident of the palace at least as perceptive as she is: the head eunuch, Jinshi. He sees through Maomao’s façade and makes her a lady-in-waiting to none other than the Emperor’s favorite consort… so she can taste the lady’s food for poison!
    Soul Kiwami
    Soul Kiwami
    Raul Ochoa, a.k.a. Soul Kiwami, is the Managing Editor of Final Weapon and a Games Writer at Game Rant with four years of writing and editing experience. Raul is passionate about the Japanese gaming industry, and he's a huge fan of Nintendo Switch, PC hardware, JRPGs, and fighting games. business email: [email protected] | Muck Rack: https://muckrack.com/raul-landaverde-1

    Latest articles

    Latest Articles