More

    The Apothecary Diaries Episode 23 Release Date, Time & Preview

    Lakan's character arc in full swing.

    Maomao finally confronts Lakan in The Apothecary Diaries episode 23, as the strategist’s backstory becomes the focus for the rest of the second cour. With the support of Gaoshun and Jinshi, it appears that Maomao will finally get some answers and payback.

    The first cour of The Apothecary Diaries ran for 12 episodes and quickly became one of the most popular anime of 2023. In 2024, the second cour continues the anime’s momentum as Maomao takes on various assignments as Jinshi’s assistant. The most recent episode saw Maomao and Jinshi become closer than ever, as Maomao saves his life and averts an evil ploy. 

    The Apothecary Diaries Episode 23 Release Date and Time

    Episode 23 of The Apothecary Diaries premieres on March 16 at 10:45 a.m. PST / 1:45 p.m. EST on Crunchyroll. The new episode is titled “Balsam and Woodsorrel.” A total of 12 episodes will be released in the second cour, with just one new episode to come after episode 23. By the second cour’s finale, 24 episodes will be available for the first season of The Apothecary Diaries.

    The Apothecary Diaries episode 23 will premiere at the following times: 

    • Sub
      • Pacific Standard Time: 10:45 a.m. PST
      • Mountain Standard Time: 11:45 a.m. MST
      • Central Standard Time: 12:45 p.m. CST
      • Eastern Standard Time: 1:45 p.m. EST
      • Greenwich Mean Time: 5:45 p.m. GMT
    • Dub
      • Pacific Standard Time: 1:30 p.m. PST
      • Mountain Standard Time: 2:30 p.m. MST
      • Central Standard Time: 3:30 p.m. CST
      • Eastern Standard Time: 4:30 p.m. EST
      • Greenwich Mean Time: 8:30 p.m. GMT

    Lets Recap – What Happened in Episode 22?

    A new assignment sees Maomao, Xiaolan, and the others prepare “blue” roses for the emperor. Beforehand, Lakan told Jinshi and Gaoshun about this mysterious rose variant, believing that the urban legend is real. However, it’s extremely unlikely for the palace’s supply of rose seeds to actually bloom in a bright blue color within a short timeframe. 

    Instead, Maomao improvises by using blue dyed water, which she revealed to the emperor formally near the end of the episode. Lakan is surprised to see the blue roses presented to the emperor, as it appears that he’s caught off guard by Jinshi and Maomao’s persistence. This turns into the right window of opportunity for Maomao to finally confront Lakan with Jinshi and Gaoshun at her side. 

    Episode 23 Preview

    The Apothecary Diaries episode 23 will delve into Lakan’s backstory and reveal a more vulnerable side of the devious character. Fans will finally get some answers about the sick Verdigris courtesan, who appears to be Maomao’s biological mother.

    Watch the new preview trailer below.

    Lastly, here’s a synopsis of the series, via Square Enix Manga & Books:

    In the East is a land ruled by an emperor, whose consorts and serving women live in a sprawling complex known as the hougong, the rear palace. Maomao, an unassuming girl raised in an unassuming town by her apothecary father, never imagined the rear palace would have anything to do with her—until she was kidnapped and sold into service there.

    Though she looks ordinary, Maomao has a quick wit, a sharp mind, and an extensive knowledge of medicine. That’s her secret, until she encounters a resident of the palace at least as perceptive as she is: the head eunuch, Jinshi. He sees through Maomao’s façade and makes her a lady-in-waiting to none other than the Emperor’s favorite consort… so she can taste the lady’s food for poison!

    Soul Kiwami
    Soul Kiwami
    Raul Ochoa, a.k.a. Soul Kiwami, is the Managing Editor of Final Weapon and a Games Writer at Game Rant with four years of writing and editing experience. Raul is passionate about the Japanese gaming industry, and he's a huge fan of Nintendo Switch, PC hardware, JRPGs, and fighting games. business email: [email protected] | Muck Rack: https://muckrack.com/raul-landaverde-1

    Latest articles

    Latest Articles