Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance Details Story, Demons, and DLC

    The definitive version of Shin Megami Tensei V.

    ATLUS revealed new details about Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance, including the story, demons, new DLC, and much more. In addition, physical and digital pre-orders for the new Shin Megami Tensei entry will open on February 27.

    Two and a half years after its initial release, Shin Megami Tensei V returns with new content in Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance. All previously released DLC from Shin Megami Tensei V is available at launch, including A Goddess in Training, The Doctor’s Last Wish, The Rage of a Queen, and the Shin Megami Tensei III: Nocturne-themed Return of the True Demon DLC. Several improvements have been made to the game alongside its new story, the Canon of Vengeance. 

    The Story and Canon of Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance

    SMT V Vengeance key art

    At the start of Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance, the player is presented with two routes: the Canon of Creation and the Canon of Vengeance. The Canon of Creation follows the story of the original Shin Megami Tensei V, while Canon of Vengeance follows the story of the new game. Canon of Vengeance starts in a similar manner to Canon of Creation, but the story varies greatly in the middle and latter stages. Moreover, Canon of Vengeance includes new locations and endings. 

    While caught up in the conflict in Da’at, the protagonist meets and travels with St. Marina Academy student Yoko Hiromine (VA: Erin Yvette), who appears to be the new heroine. Yoko joins as a party member and uses magic, and she was once called a “saint.” These two characters will face off against four female demons that make up the Qadištu, who are led by Lilith (VA: Katelyn Gault) . Lilith refers to herself as “The Oppressed,” while the protagonist is called the “Key of Resurrection.” The Oppressed begins her mission of revenge on humankind. 

    Da’at and Demons

    Players will explore new locations in Da’at with even more features and elements to consider in Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance. ATLUS notes that every system of the original game has been brushed up with detail and new elements, including field exploration, the tried-and-true demon negotiation system, the battle system, and much more. Fans can also enjoy an auto battle mode to speed up the grind when necessary, alongside the ability to save anywhere.

    Over 270 demons are available in Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance, including 40 new demons. Each demon comes with unique skills, new interactions, and new “elements” that ATLUS will discuss at a later date. One of the game’s new demons is Nahobiho, a Jack Frost demon inspired by the Nahobino design. Of course, all demon art is illustrated by Masayuki Doi. 

    Check out the gallery of demons below, via ATLUS.

    An Expanded Experience With Over 80 Additional Hours

    ATLUS confirms that the Canon of Vengeance story in Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance is 80 hours long for just one route. Fans can get 160 total playtime hours or more from both routes. Moreover, new DLC will be available on launch day featuring Dagda from Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse and Konohana Sakuya, a new demon designed by Doi.

    In the “Holy Will and Profane Dissent” DLC, the protagonist meets Danu, the earth mother goddess. Danu claims that she came from a world that exists in another universe, likely referring to the Tokyo portrayed in Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse. She’s looking for her son Dagda, who can be made an ally and unlocked for fusion. 

    In the “Sakura Cinders of the East” DLC, Konohana Sakuya wishes for a hero that can pacify the ruined world. She sees an image of a hero within the protagonist and challenges him to a duel. Winning this battle allows players to turn Konohana Sakuya into an ally and fuse her. Moreover, various DLCs will be available at launch that makes it easier to gain experience and in-game currency.

    Catch up on the special program video and check out the gallery below. 

    Lastly, Shin Megami Tensei V: Vengeance is coming to Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, and PC via Steam on June 21 worldwide.

    Soul Kiwami
    Soul Kiwami
    Raul Ochoa, a.k.a. Soul Kiwami, is the Managing Editor of Final Weapon and a Games Writer at Game Rant with four years of writing and editing experience. Raul is passionate about the Japanese gaming industry, and he's a huge fan of Nintendo Switch, PC hardware, JRPGs, and fighting games. business email: [email protected]

    Latest articles

    Related articles