More

    The Game Awards 2023: Start Time, Livestream and What to Expect

    All aboard the hype train!

    It’s that time of year again: The Game Awards 2023 is just a week away. The Awards are an annual event hosted by gaming influencer and personality, Geoff Keighley. The event started in 2003 as The Spike Video Game Awards, or VGAs. In 2014, the label was officially changed to The Game Awards. The event will feature announcements and awards granted to the best video games released in 2023.

    Here’s everything you can expect from The Game Awards 2023 including the date, time and location of the event, as well as what announcements and awards fans can look forward to. 

    The Game Awards 2023 Date, Time, and Location

    The Game Awards 2023 will air on December 7, 2023. The event will begin at 4 PM PDT, 7 PM EDT, 6 PM CDT, 12 AM BST, 5 PM MST, and 9 AM JST. The stream will be available to watch on the official Game Awards Twitch and YouTube account. 

    Additionally, for people in California hoping to catch the event in-person, the event will be held at the Peacock Theater at Los Angeles. Lastly, the Awards will also be streamed through Fortnite at the same time. Regardless of preference, fans have plenty of options for streaming The Game Awards 2023 next Thursday. 

    The Game Awards 2023 Livestream

    What Awards Will Be Highlighted During the Event?

    Alan Wake 2 Key Art

    Fans can expect a wide variety of different awards to be showcased during The Game Awards 2023. Examples include:

    • Game of the Year
    • Best Game Direction
    • Best Narrative
    • Best Art Direction
    • Best Score and Music
    • Best Ongoing Game
    • Best Independent Game
    • Best Action Game
    • Best RPG
    • Best Adaptation
    • Player’s Choice (The only award that is 100% fan-voted)

    The games nominated for Game of the Year include:

    For the full list of nominations, check out the official Game Awards website and our article covering the nominees here. The ability to vote for all the awards mentioned above and more is also available on the official Game Awards website. 

    What Games Will Be Shown at The Game Awards 2023?

    Aerith Key Art Final Fantasy VII Rebirth

    Currently, Keighley has not yet confirmed what games will be shown off or announced at The Game Awards 2023. However, there are a few possible titles that players may see next week. For one, there’s Final Fantasy VII Rebirth. Square Enix revealed the first major trailer of the upcoming game during Summer Game Fest 2023, another one of Geoff Keighley’s event. It is highly likely that a new trailer will be shown at The Game Awards 2023, especially with the game just two months away from release. 

    Additionally, it is also likely that the first trailer for Grand Theft Auto VI will be revealed. Rockstar Games recently confirmed that the game would be officially shown for the first time in December 2023. With The Game Awards 2023 being the biggest event in December, it would make sense for the game to be shown there. 

    Other than those two games, there is little concrete information about what games will be shown during The Game Awards. Geoff Keighley will likely reveal more details in the coming days leading up to the event. 

    The Game Awards 2023 will premiere on December 7, 2023, at 7 PM EDT. 

    Saras Rajpal
    Saras Rajpal
    Saras is a passionate creative writer, with a love for immersive sims, superhero games, and Persona. He is currently writing a thesis about Persona 5 and is pursuing a career as a full-time writer.

    Latest articles

    Related articles