Final Fantasy XIV Patch 6.18 releases July 5, Patch 6.2: Buried Memory releases in August

    During Final Fantasy XIV Letter from the Producer LIVE Part LXXI, Square Enix revealed new details regarding patch 6.18 and patch 6.2. Final Fantasy XIV patch 6.2 is titled ‘Buried Memory’ and continues the main scenario from patch 6.1: Newfound Adventure.

    Final Fantasy XIV patch 6.18 releases on July 5 with the highly-anticipated Data Center Travel feature. Players will be able to travel to other Worlds to continue their in-game journey. The feature only allows travel between logical data centers within the same data center. Travel between Japanese, North American, and Oceania data centers is not supported.

    Patch 6.18 introduces a new logical data center, Meteor, to the Japanese data center and existing Worlds will be redistributed within it. The European region will also see the first of two expansions. A total of four worlds will be added to the EU region:

    • New Worlds in the Chaos Data Center – ‘Sagittarius’ and ‘Phantom’

    • New Worlds in the Light Data Center – ‘Alpha’ and ‘Raiden’

    These worlds will allow even more players to join the world of Final Fantasy XIV and take advantage of the newly added Data Center Travel feature.

    Final Fantasy XIV Patch 6.2: Buried Memory releases in late August with a plethora of content and the continuation of the main scenario. Patch 6.2 includes the following:

    • New Main Scenario Quests – The latest chapter in the story continues.

    • New Side Quests – Tataru’s Grand Endeavor continues.

    • New Dungeon – The Fell Court of Troia

    • New Trial – A new challenge at both Normal and Extreme difficulties. Further details to be announced at a later date.

    • New 8-Player Raid – Pandæmonium: Abyssos will be available in both Normal and Savage difficulties. The Savage difficulty raid is planned for release one week following the launch of Patch 6.2.

    • New Unreal Trial – Battle against Sephirot in Containment Bay S1T7 (Unreal)

    • PvP Updates – PvP Series 2 and Crystal Conflict Series 3 will begin with the release of Patch 6.2. Rival Wings will also resume, along with PvP action adjustments.

    • Further Main Scenario Reworks:

      • The Duty Support feature will be expanded to include main scenario dungeons from Snow Cloak through The Vault.

      • The Steps of Faith Trial will be reworked into a Solo Quest Battle

      • Thornmarch Trial will be revamped

    • Miscellaneous Updates – Additional content including job adjustments for both PvE and PvP, updates to Adventurer Plates, Glamour Dresser expansion from 400 to 800 slots, and more.

    At a later date, Final Fantasy XIV patch 6.25 follows up with more additional content including Hildibrand side quests and Omicorn tribal quests. Here’s a brief overview of what’s coming in patch 6.25:

    • New Side Quests – Somehow Further Hildibrand Adventures continue in Patch 6.25.

    • New Weapon Enhancement Quests – Players can obtain and enhance Manderville Weapons throughout the Patch 6.x series, which will unlock through the Somehow Further Hildibrand Adventures questline.

    • New Tribal Quests: Omicron – Disciples of the Land focused quests

    • New “Variant Dungeons” Battle Content – Previously called “Criterion Dungeons,” players can enjoy this new variable-difficulty dungeon content—beginning with Sil’dihn Subterrane—designed for between 1-4 players, with the difficulty of enemies scaling depending on party size. Dungeons will feature branching routes, which change depending on player action within the dungeon.

    • Another Path: Criterion Dungeons – High difficulty four-player content, which features a visually similar area to the Variant Dungeons, but will have a set route. The Criterion Dungeon content will feature two options of varying difficulties, each with their own unique set of rules and characteristics.

    All of the details were explained in further detail during Final Fantasy XIV Letter from the Producer LIVE Part LXXI. The full presentation is available below:

    Lastly, Final Fantasy XIV and the latest expansion, Endwalker, are available now for PS4, PS5, and PC.

    Soul Kiwami
    Soul Kiwami
    Raul Ochoa, a.k.a. Soul Kiwami, is the Managing Editor of Final Weapon and a Games Writer at Game Rant with four years of writing and editing experience. Raul is passionate about the Japanese gaming industry, and he's a huge fan of Nintendo Switch, PC hardware, JRPGs, and fighting games. business email: [email protected]

    Latest articles

    Related articles