More

    Final Fantasy XVI Arcade Mode Leaderboard Update Announced

    A new update launching next week.

    Square Enix has announced that a new update for Final Fantasy XVI is in the works and will be released on December 8, 2023. The update will go live at 12 AM EST / 2 PM JST. 

    The last update for the game added new costumes for you to choose from for Clive, Jill, Joshua, Torgal, and Ambrosia. Additionally, minor updates to different gameplay mechanics were adjusted. 

    Final Fantasy XVI Update Due Out December 8

    Square has addressed what this update will target. Mainly, this is a reset to the Arcade Mode Leaderboard. Learn more about this update below:

    At 2 p.m. JST / 6 a.m. CET / 12 a.m. EST on December 8, 2023 (subject to change), an update will be released which adjusts the method by which battle performance scores are calculated in Arcade Mode. It will also introduce a new leaderboard to which all new scores will be recorded. Please note that after installing the update, you will no longer be able to record scores to the old leaderboard. A further announcement will be made at the time of the update’s release detailing its content.

    Patch notes will be available when the update is released. We’ll keep you updated as we learn more. Be sure to check out our review of the title and more information below.

    About Final Fantasy XVI

    Final Fantasy XVI Update 1.10

    Final Fantasy XVI was developed by Creative Business Unit III, led by Director Hiroshi Takai and Producer Naoki Yoshida. CBUIII is behind the critically acclaimed MMO Final Fantasy XIV, which continues to grow each year.

    Clive Rosfield is the main protagonist of the title, voiced by Ben Starr. He is the only playable character, as the game has a high action focus, or at least more so than previous Final Fantasy titles. Combat design has been directed by Ryota Suzuki, who was a key member of the Devil May Cry 5 and Dragon’s Dogma combat design teams. 

    A free Final Fantasy XVI demo is available to play now! This demo allows players to play through two sections, the Prologue of FFXVI and the Eikonic Challenge. You’ll be able to get a taste of the game’s story, world, and combat with this demo. You can learn all about the demo by checking out the posts below.

    Final Fantasy XVI was launched on June 22, 2023, exclusively on PlayStation 5. 

    Check out all of Final Weapon’s Final Fantasy XVI coverage in our Compendium, available right here!

    Noah Hunter
    Noah Hunter
    Noah is Final Weapon’s Editor-in-Chief. He co-founded the website in June 2019 and has been writing for it ever since. In total, he has over five years of writing experience across many publications, including IGN Entertainment. His favorite series include Xeno and Final Fantasy.

    Latest articles

    Related articles